

Dear 2021 Virtual HBCU Summit Participants:

Welcome to the 2021 Virtual HBCU Summit hosted by The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Inclusive STEM Ecosystems for Equity and Diversity (ISEED) Unit and supported by the National Science Foundation (NSF). The Summit is an extension of our AAAS HBCU Making and Innovation Showcase that we have convened since 2018. Since 2018, we have supported ~200 HBCU students and faculty from 22 HBCUs to develop and pitch their prototypes in response to one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. Additionally, teams have participated in professional development sessions, mentoring and coaching in the areas of making, innovation, invention and entrepreneurship. The goal of the Summit is to engage past and current HBCU Showcase participants, along with the leadership from these institutions to share resources and discuss solutions to advance innovation capacity at HBCUs and to extend, sustain and scale these efforts beyond the current NSF-funded project.

We are excited to have Sudip Parikh - AAAS CEO and Executive Publisher of the Science Family of Journals for our opening plenary keynote. Sessions will include Resources and Grant Opportunities with the NSF (Jesus Soriano), SBA (Lori Gillen(, USPTO (Joyce Ward); Nation of Makers (Dorothy Jones-Davis) and BBC Entrepreneurial Training & Consulting (Baindu Bayon), Technology Transfer with Janeya Griffin, Nina Archie and LaKisha Greenwade; and Strategic Collaborations and Partnerships. Our closing Plenary will feature a Student Voices Panel with Philander Smith College students and a synthesis and report out from our HBCU Presidents' Meeting with AAAS CEO.

We would like to thank our AAAS Project Team: Allison Gonzalez, Tarrick Clayton and Hannah Weiss; our NSF Program Officers: Carleitta Paige-Anderson, our AAAS leadership: Sudip Parikh, Shirley Malcom and Tavis York, and our Advisory Board: Laura Collins (NC A&T), Ron Williams (Coppin State), Demetria Gallagher (The Jammi Group), Brandon Andrews (Shark Tank), Dorothy Jones-Davis (Nation of Makers), Joyce Ward (USPTO), Elli Fini (Arizona State), and Quincy Brown (USPTO). As a professional society, AAAS is working to advance science, engineering, and innovation throughout the world for the benefit of all people. Please visit https://iie.aaas.org/ to learn more about our HBCU Innovation Initiative.

Sincerely,

Aris R. Wagstaff Necla White

Iris R. Wagstaff, STEM Program Director, NSF PI and Neela White, Project Director, NSF Co-PI



